

## **Collegial Governance in the Collective Agreement**

Senate & its committees, along with Faculty and Graduate Faculty Council, are sites where we often acknowledge the role of collegial governance. However, several articles in the Collective Agreement protect collegial decision-making.

Appointments Appointments Committee	5.8 The composition of the Appointments Committee shall be: a) the Chair of the Department (Director of the School or Dean of the Faculty), who shall chair the Committee; b) at the discretion of the Dean, an Associate Dean with voice but no vote; c) two Full-Time Tenured or Continuing Status Members from the Unit elected by the Full-Time Members from the Unit; d) at least two other Members in the Unit elected by the Members from the Unit.
Closure & Reorganization of an Academic Unit Academic Review Committee	2.2 An Academic Review Committee (ARC) shall consist of five members: <b>two appointed by the Association</b> ; two appointed by the Employer and one external member chosen by the other four who will serve as Chair. No member of the Committee shall be a member of the Unit(s) or program(s) in question.
Department Chairs & Directors of Schools Department Chair Selection Committee	9.2 The Chair Selection Committee shall consist of: a) the Provost, or designate; b) the Dean of the Faculty with fiscal responsibility for the Department, c) where the Department has Members involved in the teaching and supervision of graduate students, the Vice-Provost of the School of Graduate and Post-doctoral Studies or designate; d) four Tenured or Continuing Status Members from the Department, elected by Members of the Department (or two Tenured or Continuing Status Members from the Department and two other Full-Time Members from the Department when a Department has fewer than four Tenured or Continuing Status Members available); e) two Tenured or Continuing Status Members who are not from the Department, elected by the Faculty Council. []
Employment Equity	This Committee shall consist of: two representatives appointed by the Association, at least one of whom shall be a member of

Employment Equity Committee	one of the designated groups; two representatives appointed by the Employer, at least one of whom shall be a member of one of the designated groups; and the Associate Vice-President of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (or designate), who shall be a non-voting member. A representative of the Association and a representative of the Employer shall serve as co-chairs of the Committee.
Financial Emergency	9. The implementation of layoffs shall be supervised by a three-person subcommittee of the Joint Committee on Implementation: one chosen by the Employer, <b>one chosen by the Association</b> and a Chair chosen by the other two subcommittee members.
Health & Safety The Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee	The Association shall have the right to appoint two (2) representatives to the JOHSC, in representing all Association Bargaining Units.
Implications of Technology	5.1 The introduction of a credit course or courses using Alternative Learning Technologies in a Unit shall be subject to the Unit's normal collegial decision making.
Joint Committee	1. There shall be a Joint Committee consisting of five persons representing the Employer and five members from the Association's Bargaining Units representing the Association.
Performance	5. In addition to the Committee chair, the Committee shall consist
Evaluation Annual Performance Committee	of: a) a minimum of three Full-Time Members, elected from and by the Members in the Unit. Members shall serve three-year term. A Member may not serve in two consecutive terms. b) In Units where the performance of at least one faculty member with Limited Duties or Standing Appointment is to be evaluated the Committee shall, where possible, include a Part-Time Member with Standing Appointment who has elected to participate in Performance Evaluation and who is elected by the Members in the Unit. c) Two Full-Time and one Part-Time alternates
Promotion Tenure & Continuing Status	8. Department shall have a Committee on Promotion, Tenure and Continuing Status. The composition of the Committee shall be: a) the Dean, or designate, who shall chair the Committee, but shall not vote except to break a tie; b) the Chair of the Department; c) three Full-Time Tenured Members from the Department elected by the Full-time Members appointed in the Department; d) one Full-Time Tenured Member appointed within the Faculty who is not a member of the Department, elected by the Members on Faculty Council, and who has been a member of a Promotion and Tenure Committee within the previous five years; and e) two Full-

Time Tenured Members who are not appointed within the Faculty, elected by the Members on Faculty Council, and who have been members of a Promotion and Tenure Committee within the previous five years; f) one Member with Continuing status from the Department, where available, elected by the Full-Time Members appointed in the Department, who shall serve only for the consideration of the Teaching Scholar files.

Each Faculty without Departments shall have a Committee on Promotion, Tenure and Continuing Status. The composition of the Committee shall be:

- a) the Dean, or designate, who shall chair the Committee, but shall not vote except to break a tie;
- b) four Full-Time Tenured Members appointed within the Faculty and elected by the Members on Faculty Council;
- c) three Full-Time Tenured Members who are not appointed within the Faculty, elected by the Members on Faculty Council, and who have been members of a Promotion and Tenure Committee within the previous five years.
- d) one Member with Continuing status from the Faculty, where available, elected by the Full-Time Members appointed in the Faculty, who shall serve only for the consideration of the Teaching Scholar files.

For Joint Appointments, the composition of the Joint Committee on Promotion, Tenure and Continuing Status shall be:

- a) the Dean, or designate, of the Home Unit, who shall chair the Committee, but shall not vote except to break a tie;
- b) the Dean, or designate, of the non-Home Unit, who shall be without vote;
- c) the **heads of the two academic Units** in which the Joint Appointment is held (the Dean, or designate, of a Faculty without Departments or **the Chair of a Department**, as applicable);
- d) three members from each of the Promotion, Tenure and Continuing Status Committees in the Units in which the Joint Appointment is held, elected by the members of each Promotion, Tenure and Continuing Status Committee, including one member from each Committee who is not appointed within the Faculty.

## Workload Committee

- 3.1.1 In addition to the Committee chair, the Committee shall consist of a maximum of five more Members:
- a) A minimum of three Full-Time Members chosen with a view to representing the range of teaching carried out in the Unit, for

	example teaching of high-enrollment undergraduate classes, teaching in professional graduate programs and supervising students in research based graduate programs, teaching of seminar courses, teaching of Experiential Learning Courses as defined by Senate b) No more than one Part-Time Member, elected from and by Members of the Unit.
UWOFA'S various activities of Joint Working group adhere to the principles of collegial governance:	Members with Disabilities; Options to pay-in lieu of Benefits for Part-Time Members; Indigenous LoU Implementation Group Career Trajectory Fund